A new Tennessee law goes into effect on July 1st, that bans handheld cellphone use while driving including hand-held calls, music control and navigation (exceptions include drivers using the device for navigation if it is in their cup holder or attached to the dash).
Beginning July 1, Tennessee drivers caught in violation of the law could face a $100 fine. The fine increases to $200 if the violation results in an accident. The law is an expansion of the current offense for talking on a handheld cell phone while driving in a school zone.
Distracted driving is a serious issue and at the law offices of T. Verner Smith, we represent clients who have suffered personal injury due to the negligence of another. These types of lawsuits not only provide necessary compensation for those who were wrongfully hurt in an accident, but also creates an environment of caution leading to higher safety standards for all. Contact us for a free consultation at (731) 423-1888, (901) 730-4567, or (615) 371-6136.
At the law offices of Verner Smith, we have handled hundreds of cases over the decades, and will be glad to review your potential case. Contact our main office at (731) 423-1888 today.